Harvard Students Awarded at AAS 2012 Meeting

January 28, 2013

Harvard graduate students Nicholas Stone and Rebekah Dawson were the recipients of the 2012 Rodger Doxsey Travel Prize—established through the support of his father, John Doxsey, and other friends, family, and colleagues—provides graduate students or postdocs within one year of receiving or receipt of their PhD a monetary prize to enable the oral presentation of their dissertation research at a winter meeting of the AAS.

2012 Rodger Doxsey Travel Prize

Stone was also selected by Springer, the European publisher, to have his thesis published as an individual hardcover book. Springer selects a small number of theses in astronomy every year for this prize.

Avi Loeb's books has been selected for the Chambliss Astronomical Writing Award by the American Astronomical Society

January 8, 2013

Avi Loeb's book has been selected for the Chambliss Astronomical Writing Award by the American Astronomical Society. The award is for Avi's first book, "How Did the First Stars and Galaxies Form?", published by Princeton University Press in 2010.

You may learn more about the book at:

Read about the AAS Chambliss Award.